What is soy sauce, tamari? About the ingredient soy sauce, tamari. Including 2,343 recipes with soy sauce, tamari, nutrition data, and where to find it.
Soy sauce is a condiment produced by fermenting soybeans with Aspergillus oryzae and Aspergillus soyae molds, along with roasted grain, water, and salt.
It is a traditional ingredient in East and Southeast Asian cuisines, and in more recent times is used in Western cuisine and prepared foods.
All varieties of soy sauce are salty, earthy, brownish liquids intended to season food while cooking or at the table.
Most varieties of soy sauce contain wheat, to which some people have a medical intolerance. However, some naturally brewed soy sauces made with wheat may be tolerated by people with a specific intolerance to gluten because gluten is not detectable in the finished product.
Japanese tamari soy sauce is traditionally wheat-free, and some tamari available commercially today is wheat- and gluten-free.
Chinese dark soy sauce contains 10 times the antioxidants of red wine, and can help prevent cardiovascular diseases.
Soy sauce is rich in lactic acid bacteria and of excellent anti-allergic potential. Soy sauce does not contain a level of the beneficial isoflavones associated with other soy products such as tofu or edamame. It can also be very salty, having a salt content of between 14%–18%.
Low-sodium soy sauces are produced, but it is difficult to make soy sauce without using some quantity of salt as an antimicrobial agent.
Soy sauce, tamari is usually found in the asian section or aisle of the grocery store or supermarket.
Soy sauce, tamari is a member of the Legumes and Legume Products USDA nutritional food group.
|1 individual packet||8|
|British (UK) term:||Soy sauce, tamari|
|en français:||sauce de soja|
|en español:||salsa de soja|
There are 2363 recipes that contain this ingredient.
Created: Last updated: